The State of Nationalism is jointly developed and supported by the research and archive network, National movements and Intermediary Structures in Europe (NISE) and the University of Plymouth (UoP). Leading experts in the study of nationalism provide scholarly support through the Advisory Council and the Advisory Committee. The State of Nationalism also benefits from the expertise and support of its Associated Partners. Dr. Eric Taylor Woods and Dr Robert Schertzer are responsible for the overall management and editing of SoN.

The State of Nationalism seeks to fulfill four broad objectives:

  1. To review and annotate the scholarly literature associated with study of nationalism
  2. To advance understanding of nationalism by providing scholars with a resource for evaluating existing areas of research
  3. To encourage comparative and theoretically-oriented research in the study of nationalism
  4. To become the leading reference for the study of nationalism in the world.


Dr Eric Taylor Woods is a Senior Lecturer (Associate Professor) in Sociology at the University of East London. He is also a Faculty Fellow in the Center for Cultural Sociology at Yale University, an Advisor to the Association for the Study of Ethnicity and Nationalism at LSE, and an Associated Member of the Antwerp-based organization, National Movements and Intermediary Structures in Europe (NISE). Eric serves on the editorial boards of the scholarly journals Cultural Sociology, Nations and Nationalism and Studies on National Movements. He completed his PhD at the LSE. For more information, please see Eric’s personal website: www.erictaylorwoods.com.

Dr Robert Schertzer is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Political Science at the University of Toronto. He teaches and publishes on federalism and the politics of nationalism, diversity and conflict. Robert has served as the co-Chair of, and is still an advisor to, the Association for the Study of Ethnicity and Nationalism at LSE (where he completed his doctorate). He also has a decade of experience in the Canadian federal public service, working in the areas of intergovernmental relations, immigration and social policy. For more information, please see Robert’s personal website: www.robertschertzer.com.


The role of the Partners is to provide human and material resources in support of the development and management of SoN.

National movements and Intermediary Structures in Europe (NISE). The Lead Partner, NISE, was established in 2008 to enable comparative and transnational studies on nationalism in Europe with the help of a central database on organisations, political parties, societies, clubs etc. and the people involved. That information is linked with four other kinds of data: bibliographical, archival, institutional and contextual.  Conferences, workshops, lectures, debates and seminars organised by NISE members throughout Europe, provide the scientific context. NISE also offers assistance at different levels with the preservation and disclosure of related archives and documentation of and on national and regional movements. The results are disseminated by the open-source scholarly journal Studies on National Movements (SNM) and the Proceedings and Monographs Series. NISE is directed by a Scientific Council of academics and a Network of research and heritage institutes, projects, networks etc. NISE was an initiative of the ADVN, a government funded archives, documentation and research centre in Antwerp (Belgium). The ADVN still acts as the coordination centre for the platform.

University of Plymouth (UoP).


The Associated Partners provide support on various aspects of SoN. The current Associated Partners are listed below. If you would like your institute to become a Associated Partner, please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Association for the Study of Ethnicity and Nationalism (ASEN). The Association for the Study of Ethnicity and Nationalism (ASEN) is an interdisciplinary student-led research association founded by research students and academics in 1990 at the London School of Economics & Political Science. ASEN seeks to fulfil two broad objectives: 1) to facilitate and maintain an interdisciplinary, global network of researchers, academics and other scholars interested in ethnicity and nationalism; and 2) to stimulate, produce, and diffuse world-class research on ethnicity and nationalism.

Centre for Research on Migration, Refugees and Belonging (CMRB). The Centre for Research on Migration, Refugees and Belonging (CMRB), based in the School of Social Sciences of the University of East London, is led by Director Prof. Nira Yuval-Davis. It brings together the interdisciplinary work carried out within UEL, in the related areas of migration and refugee studies; diasporas and social cohesion; racism, nationalism and political religions; as well as citizenship, identity and belonging. CMRB also collaborates with individuals, academic institutions and organisations outside UEL on research, conferences and seminars, in order to build knowledge on these crucial issues and provide a space for debate and creative thinking.

Study Platform on Interlocking Nationalisms (SPIN). SPIN aims to chart the cultural and historical root system of European nationalisms and to bring into focus those intellectual networks which carried and disseminated the emerging ideals of cultural nationalism in the Romantic period and in the long nineteenth century (1770-1914).


The Advisory Committee is composed of leading experts in the study of nationalism based in or near London, UK. The Advisory Committee provides advice on the scientific aspects of SoN, including suggesting potential authors and peer-reviewers.


  • John Breuilly, London School of Economics and Political Science
  • John Hutchinson, London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Atsuko Ichijo, Kingston University
  • Jon Fox, University of Bristol University
  • Elliott Green, London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Daphne Halikiopoulou, University of Reading
  • Eric Kaufmann, Birkbeck, University of London
  • Athena Leoussi, University of Reading
  • Stefan Wolff, University of Birmingham
  • Nira Yuval-Davis, University of East London


The Advisory Council is composed of the members of the NISE Scientific Council. The Advisory Council convenes during the NISE annual gathering, and provides advice on all aspects of SoN, including suggesting peer-reviewers.


  • Stefan Berger, Institut für soziale Bewegungen (ISB), Germany
  • Hanno Brand, Fryske Akademy, The Netherlands
  • John Breuilly, London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE), United Kingdom
  • Todor Čepreganov, Универзитет „Гоце Делчев“ – Штип, Macedonia
  • Laurence Cole, Universität Salzburg, Austria
  • Bruno De Wever, Universiteit Gent (UG), Belgium
  • Miroslav Hroch, Univerzita Karlova, Czech Republic
  • James Kennedy, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Chantal Kesteloot, Studie- en Documentatiecentrum Oorlog en Maatschappij (SOMA), Belgium
  • Johannes Koll, Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien, Austria
  • Joep Leerssen, Universiteit van Amsterdam (UvA), The Netherlands
  • Ludger Mees, Universidad del País Vasco, Spain
  • Alexey Miller, Институт научной информации по общественным наукам, русский академии наук (ИНИОН РАН), Russian Federation
  • Diana Mishkova, Centre for Advanced Study Sofia (CAS), Bulgaria
  • Xosé Manoel Núñez Seixas, Ludwig-Maximilians Universität, Germany
  • Philipp Ther, Universität Wien, Austria
  • Anne-Marie Thiesse, Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS), France
  • Marius Turda, Oxford Brookes University, United Kingdom
  • Maarten Van Ginderachter, Universiteit Antwerpen (UA), Belgium
  • Frans-Jos Verdoodt, NISE, Belgium
  • Louis Vos, NISE, Belgium